new
*
archive
*
random
*
profile
*
notes
*
e-mail
*
diaryland

I wear my body like a caravan

22 February 2008 - 12:40

<<--unravel * reintegrate-->>

I was sitting on the couch with Kale practically on top of him, and he was trying to take a macro photo of my eye so that our neighborhood and the (rare in winter) blue sky would reflect off my iris.

"Don't look at me. Don't look at me."

Something about that command made me remember that I am Donna, viewed as many different Donnas by many people, Donna who, for five years now has been by Kale's side, and who before that loved others. All of the me's I have been and have appeared to be flashed through my mind, and they all seemed very strange, because I am just a consciousness with an eye who has taken all these forms. Fantasy, a play. An infinite experiment. Although those forms are the only things anyone can know me by, they are not me. And for a moment I could let Kale become not-Kale. Rather, a consciousness unbounded by my ideas of Kale.

Somehow I think "Donna" is really just a momentary reflection in my eye.

Through the shades

<<--unravel * reintegrate-->>