new
*
archive
*
random
*
profile
*
notes
*
e-mail
*
diaryland

arise young phoenix

01 October 2006 - 02:22

<<--unravel * reintegrate-->>

During my walk today, the sky seemed particularly huge, and every building, tree, street sign, car, and person seemed extraordinarly vivid, as if everything that rose from the ground were an exclamation point. I felt that I could see part way through the trappings of physical existence -- the sentence before the exclamation point, the force that propels presence. If being present in this life were an impulse I consciously had to follow every day, I know I wouldn't be here. Fortunately, some other part of me is less distracted by ephemera: it wakes me from my dreams every morning; it sends me impulses throughout my day. My presence, my pulse, my lens, my stride, my struggle -- these make up the exclamation point of my existence. I am starting to decipher the sentence that justifies such excitement. That sentence speaks of joy.

Spring sunburst

<<--unravel * reintegrate-->>