new
*
archive
*
random
*
profile
*
notes
*
e-mail
*
diaryland

to find your inner cathedral

04 March 2003 - 15:08

<<--unravel * reintegrate-->>

A friend and i were talking about periods of insanity in our lives. He said that at the end of his, he realized you can NEVER gauge someone else's worth.

I said, Oh, that reminds me of something I was reading yesterday:
�Your worth is not dictated by the expression or opinion or perception of any other individual. Your worth is not dictated by your actions or your experiences. Therefore, your worth is not dictated by what you create. Your worth is YOU, and this is not reflected by what you create or your experiences or the opinions or the perceptions of any other individual. It is not even dictated by your own perception!� -- Elias

My friend said that was exactly what he meant. When I first read that quotation, I lay on my bed and let myself feel it. I thought that I had freed myself from letting beliefs define my worth, but really I've barely started. These thoughts floated to my mind about how often I base my sense of self-worth on something I say or do, or on something magical that happened to me. I let go; I felt the magic of simply existing. I felt warmth creep through my body, tingling. Space opened up in me as if I were a cathedral.

I keep doing it today, especially when I think of what I learned yesterday. I'm not saying people shouldn't strive to meet their ideals; I'm only suggesting, do so to reflect your worth, not create it.

<<--unravel * reintegrate-->>